Vista Aggravation: Media Center Icon renames itself.

While this might seem like I’m picky I like all of my icons all on the top row of my desktop, and the text below them are setup to only take up one row. I’ve taken things like Google Sketchup 6 and changed it to Sketchup or Microsoft Office Word 2007 and changed it to Word. In this manner, on my 2560×1600 resolution, 30 inch monitor I have 34 icons for programs and links to hard drives around the home all lined up and only taking up the top row of my desktop and each icon only having a single line of text…. All except one icon which sticks out like a wart.

Microsoft’s Windows Media Center will not let you change it’s name to Media Center. I can call it MC but if I try to call it Media Center, some evil logic in windows changes back from:

ICONGOESHERE

  Media Center

        to

ICONGOESHERE 

    Windows

  Media Center

Any Microsofties out there wanna explain that one for me please? I know it seems stupid but it’s very aggravating. I want my Media Center icon to say Media Center, not Windows Media Center.

Update: I found a workaround for the odd behavior but it’s not perfect. If you fire up notepad and then hold down your alt key and then type 393 on your number pad while holding alt, it will create a "ë" this special "e" can be used to replace any of the three "e’s" in media center at any point you wish, and it will not change back to Windows Media Center, which takes up two lines.

One other variation which might be slightly less noticeable is ALT 396 which will produce an "î" which is less difficult to distinguish from a regular i. I think I’ll use that character instead.

Leave a comment