Patent Armageddon has Arrived! The Cold War is Over!

Microsoft is going to make people pay to use Linux? Wow, this isn’t good news for computer enthusiasts like myself who have fallen in love with Linux. This is a huge blow to companies like the ones who Make Ubuntu, and I fear the backlash that will come back to Microsoft is not one they desire. Still, I haven’t given enough thought to it. While I don’t have any software patents which I’ve invented, I do have a business method patent which was recently filed with the USPTO.GOV. I also have some new novel approaches to big business and business methods which my company seems very interested in so far and so I might have more patents on the way. And so I know the thousands and thousands of thankless, uncompensated hours of my life that I’ve poured into a new way of doing business that I feel will completely change an entire industry.

Those ideas are no where to be found on this planet and if someone was to steal it from me (my company owns it) I’d surely not be happy. Business method patents are a bit different than Software patents and I’m afraid that this is just going to push Linux use into offshore outfits in South America and the real innovators–many of them in the United States and Europe–will boycott Microsoft completely and wholeheartedly.

Recently I wrote about a company who was suing Microsoft for infringing on it’s patents. As an exercise I read through it, not being an expert and just tried to see what "Product" existed in which was claimed infringing upon and tried to see if I could determine if the patent was something they invented. I’m plainly stated I was just trying to understand Patent language more and I fear I must have upset the company but that wasn’t my intent. If their approach was novel it needs protected as long as they are trying to get it to market and are not preying on hardworking developers. Most of me wants to agree with Ballmer is as much as I feel those who create something novel deserve to be rewarded for their hard work. I just haven’t had enough time to let it sink in yet, if all this means is I have to use openSUSE in my own business then that’s fine but I hate what it’s going to do to the best thing since the Internet itself. Linux.

Dell, are you going to be the first to pay for selling Linux? Did Dell do this? Did Google do this? Damn, this sucks. Here comes the horde.

Leave a comment