Linux in the New York Times

The New York Times has a nice write up about Ubuntu which is meant to let your average NYT’s reader understand the state of Linux, or for many, explain again what that Linux word means. They don’t go into details but I have to slightly disagree with the Summary:

After using the operating system for writing, Web surfing, graphic editing, movie watching and a few other tasks, it is easy to conclude that Linux can be an alternative to the major operating systems. But since common tasks like watching a movie or syncing an iPod require hunting for and installing extra software, Linux is best for technically savvy users or for people whose needs are so basic that they will never need anything other than the bundled software.

I hope that’s not too much of a clip, but I didn’t want to take that last sentence out of context. Linux is great for an increasingly large number of things, including being a full fledged Music Studio. I’m in the process of getting ready to install Ubuntu Studio on my fathers older Windows 98 machine (will be pulling some stuff out) and I am giving a lot of thought to also using it on my MacBook Pro.

linux

The good in this article is that everyone is learning that you don’t need to install Windows anymore, there is vibrant competition and Dell is selling an increasing number of Linux Computers from what I hear. Not to mention Novell who’s Sales are through the roof, and Apple, who’s sales are through the roof. With Vista in the state of disfavor that it’s in, let me be the very first to say it on the web (probably not but) If things don’t change, Microsoft will soon no longer have a desktop monopoly. They will need to be held in check for quite some while I think, or at least closely watched, but I think it’s fair to say that unless they start innovating at a faster pace on the Desktop, Windows will continue to loose market share for the next few years. I don’t know how much further, but I know some.

Leave a comment