openSUSE 10.3 Beta 2 on the loose

 I wasn’t too happy with the last beta, but that’s only because one of my favorite distributions wasn’t playing nice with the hardware I through at it. Namely Sax2 has it’s old bug from 10.1 where changing the resolution doesn’t change the resolution. Not exactly what you expect from a modern operating system. I guess that’s because I put it on a GFX Intel card. (Bug #270846)

They say the problem will be fixed in beta 3, so I am anxiously awaiting it. For those of you who are planning on putting this distribution on other hardware, just check out the latest release notes, especially the technical challenges and the Most annoying bugs over at openSUSE News. For those brave souls out there, to the torrents!

    • 1 DVD containing OSS and NonOSS software (torrents for: i386, x86_64, ppc)
    • 1 CD with a default KDE installation (i386, x86_64, not for ppc)
    • 1 CD with a default GNOME installation (i386, x86_64, not for ppc)
    • 1 AddOn CD with only NonOSS packages on it (i386 or x86_64, ppc)
    • 1 AddOn CD with language packages that are used for extra languages (the DVD contains support for english, french, italian, spanish, german, chinese, japanese, czech, danish, norwegian, khmer, hungarian, polish; the DVD has support for installation in all languages, just extra packages are only on this extra media) (i386, x86_64, ppc)
    • DVD/CDs containing the sources corresponding to the media

Let me know what you think. openSUSE remains one of the most advanced Workstation Linux Distos out there, and I love it as much as Ubuntu and maybe I have a little old time loyalty to it that Microsoft can’t even touch.

Share this post :

Leave a comment